CRRNT is a concert series dedicated to new live music. The series feature experimental and contemporary musicians and musical improvisation. The sixth installment of the series, taking place at Kaunas Artists’ House on 17 July, 8 pm, will showcase an ensemble of six musicians: 

Mėta Gabrielė Pelegrimaitė (fleita)
Kazimieras Jušinskas (saksofonas)
Dominykas Norkūnas (elektrinė gitara)
Simonas Kaupinis (tūba)
Aurelijus Užameckis (kontrabosas)
Arnas Mikalkėnas (būgnai)

The sextet will perform music which demands attention and concentration from its listeners and their own compositions, aligned by improvised and experimental sounds. This programme will also be presented at the “Saulkrasti Jazz Festival” in Latvia after which the musicians will head on straight onto the stage at Kaunas Artists’ House and deliver an unforgettable evening.

About the artists

Mėta Gabrielė Pelegrimaitė studied the flute at Anykščiai music school from the age of 7. After graduating from high school, she joined the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre Jazz department, saxophonist Liudas Mockūnas’s course. In the last year of her undergraduate degree she joined a contemporary music ensemble comprised of Master’s degree students and has been actively participating in concerts and various projects ever since. With the electro-acoustic trio “jūra/mėta/ieva” she participated in the newly-established “Fantomas Fest”. Mėta starts studying free improvisation at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre contemporary music department this September.

Kazimieras Jušinskas – an active saxophonist who plays in various projects such as “Brave Noises”, “Džiazlaif“, “The Septet“, and saxophone quartet “Katarsis4”. The musician who plays on soprano and alto saxophones has also participated in “Vilnius Mama Jazz”, “Kaunas Jazz”, and “Peronas Jazz” jazz music festivals. After graduating from Vilnius Juozas Tallat-Kelpša Conservatoire K. Jušinskas entered the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre where he is successfully continuing his studies.

Dominykas Norkūnas completed his elementary musical education at music school “Ąžuoliukas”, where he studied singing, playing flute and piano. After graduating with the pop music specialty from the Rhythmical Music Department of Vilnius College, he now studies the specialty of Contemporary Music / Free Improvisation at LMTA. Dominykas participated in most Lithuanian pop music and jazz festivals as an independent musician and with ensembles like N-atomic, TDT, and Midnight Special trio. In 2015, the artist won the “Tamsta Guitar Day” contest.

After graduating from Balys Dvarionas Music School, Simonas Kaupinis studied the Tuba at LMTA, during which time he also spent half a year at the Rossini Conservatory in Italy. He participates actively in academic and contemporary music festivals and is currently studying for a Master’s degree in Contemporary Music and Improvisation program.

Aurelijus Užameckis – double bass player, jazz and improvisational music performer and writer. Studied classical music and jazz, played with orchestras, was laureate of local contests. Independently taught himself creation and performance of electronic and non-academic music genres. Won the Grand Prix in “Vilnius Jazz Young Power” contest, with the band “Džiazlaif”. In the same contest, was awarded the prize for best original composition and universal double bass expression. Currently, the musician actively participates in jazz, improvisational music, and other scenes, plays and creates with the most prominent musicians of the country, collaborates with theatre and other art disciplines.

Arnas Mikalkėnas started from a degree in classical accordion, conducting, and jazz piano, and now teaches in Kaunas Conservatory and VMU music academy. Arnas is one of the most active free music players in Lithuania. He acts as band leader, composer, and has recently started working with theatre music and performance art.

Tickets can be purchased on the door before the concerts or at “Tiketa”, both in person and online. Tickets cost 3 €.

Svetainė atnaujinama | Site under construction
This is default text for notification bar